/ Reading: 3 min.

6. Oct 2021
/ Germany
Mobility as a Service: full speed ahead towards the mobility turnaround
Whenever we talk about the transport revolution and the associated restructuring of public transport, we cannot avoid the term "Mobility as a Service", abbreviated MaaS. But what exactly is "MaaS" and how can the digital approach help to sustainably advance the transport revolution?

Digital, efficient and customer-centric
Mobility as a Service offers are leading to a new understanding of mobility. Silos are being broken down and mobility offerings are being thought of holistically from the user’s point of view. Modular software enables access to different mobility offerings via a digital platform. This means that the route from start to destination is always tailored to the customer and all options for getting from a to b such as classic public transport, on-demand shuttles, micro mobility and other means of transportation are taken into account. The entire booking process is bundled in one application: From planning to booking to payment.

Intermodal travel without inconvenience
The biggest advantage of the Mobility as a Service application is obvious: access to mobility becomes easier. MaaS platforms prevent intermodal trips from always involving a nerve-racking search marathon. The sustainability aspect also plays a crucial role. Strengthened public transport can encourage people to leave their own cars behind and use alternative solutions – both in the city and in the countryside. The dynamics of the software make it possible to constantly add further mobility services to the existing product portfolio.

ioki as pioneer
ioki also shows pioneering spirit in the area of Mobility as a Service. At the beginning of 2021, DB subsidiaries Mobimeo and ioki cooperated for the first time in the further development of the KVV.mobil app. Here, ioki enables the deep integration of an on-demand service into a MaaS platform through its specially developed API interface. By linking public transport, the on-demand shuttle service Myshuttle and other sharing services such as TIER, VOI and Nextbike, people in Karlsruhe are offered a sustainable alternative to private cars. “By offering to upgrade apps with this API, we are opening up our ioki platform to all transport providers with deeply integrated mobility-as-a-service solutions. We can now also display our on-demand bookings within comprehensive mobility-as-a-service apps, thus offering even greater value to users“, says Dr. Michael Barillère-Scholz, CEO of ioki.

Latest article

Senior-friendly public transport: What should age-appropriate public transport look like?

Senior-friendly public transport: What should age-appropriate public transport look like?

Europe’s population is ageing. in 2019, more than a fifth (20.3 per cent) of the EU-27 population was at least 65 years old. And the trend is still rising. Demographic change is a challenge for public transport, but it can also be an opportunity for growth with a customised mobility offer for senior citizens. After all, if older people no longer drive, they are increasingly dependent on public transport in order to continue to actively participate in social life.

Related articles

Senior-friendly public transport: What should age-appropriate public transport look like?

Senior-friendly public transport: What should age-appropriate public transport look like?

Europe’s population is ageing. in 2019, more than a fifth (20.3 per cent) of the EU-27 population was at least 65 years old. And the trend is still rising. Demographic change is a challenge for public transport, but it can also be an opportunity for growth with a customised mobility offer for senior citizens. After all, if older people no longer drive, they are increasingly dependent on public transport in order to continue to actively participate in social life.

“Mind the (Gender Data) Gap” – Diversity Lunch at ioki

“Mind the (Gender Data) Gap” – Diversity Lunch at ioki

Few social issues are as relevant as diversity and the inclusion of everyone in everyday life. This topic is also firmly embedded in our corporate values and we are committed to a diverse and inclusive culture. In order to actively implement and live up to these values, we have set up an internal working group dedicated to the important topics of diversity and inclusion.

/ Reading: 3 min.

6. Okt 2021
/ Germany
Mobility as a Service: Volle Fahrt voraus in Richtung Verkehrswende
Ist von der Verkehrswende und der damit verbundenen Restrukturierung des ÖPNV die Rede, kommt man um die Begrifflichkeit „Mobility as a Service“, kurz MaaS, nicht herum. Doch was ist „MaaS“ eigentlich genau und wie kann der digitale Ansatz dabei helfen, die Verkehrswende weiter nachhaltig voranzutreiben?

Digital, effizient und kundenzentriert
Durch Mobility as a Service-Angebote entsteht ein neues Verständnis von Mobilität. Silos werden aufgebrochen und Mobilitätsangebote werden ganzheitlich vom Nutzer aus gedacht. Durch modulare Software wird der Zugang zu unterschiedlichen Mobilitätsangeboten über eine digitale Plattform ermöglicht. Das bedeutet, dass die Route vom Start ans Ziel stets maßgeschneidert auf den Kunden zugeschnitten wird und sämtliche Möglichkeiten der Fortbewegung, wie der klassische ÖPNV, On-Demand-Shuttles, Mikromobilitätsangebote und andere Fortbewegungsmöglichkeiten, berücksichtigt werden. Dabei wird der gesamte Buchungsprozess in einer Anwendung gebündelt: Von der Planung über die Buchung bis zur Bezahlung.

Intermodal Reisen ohne Umstände
Der größte Vorteil der Mobility as a Service-Anwendung liegt auf der Hand: der Zugang zu Mobilität wird einfacher. MaaS-Plattformen verhindern, dass intermodale Reisen stets einen nervenaufreibenden Suchmarathon mit sich bringen. Auch der Nachhaltigkeitsaspekt spielt eine entscheidende Rolle. Durch einen gestärkten ÖPNV können Menschen dazu bewegt werden, dass eigene Auto stehenzulassen und auf alternative Lösungen zurückzugreifen – sowohl in der Stadt als auch auf dem Land. Die Dynamik der Software ermöglicht es, das bestehende Angebot stetig um weitere Mobilitätsdienste zu ergänzen.

ioki als Vorreiter
Auch im Bereich Mobility as a Service zeigt ioki Pioniergeist. Anfang 2021 kooperierten die DB-Töchter Mobimeo und ioki erstmalig bei der Weiterentwicklung der KVV.mobil-App. ioki ermöglicht hier durch seine eigens entwickelte API-Schnittstelle die Tiefenintegration eines On-Demand-Service in eine MaaS-Plattform. Durch die Vernetzung des ÖPNV, des On-Demand-Shuttledienstes Myshuttle und anderen Sharing-Angeboten wie TIER, VOI und Nextbike, wird den Menschen in Karlsruhe eine nachhaltige Alternative zum privaten Auto geboten. „Mit der Erweiterung durch die API-Schnittstelle öffnen wir unsere ioki-Plattform für alle Verkehrsanbieter mit tiefenintegrierten Mobility as –a Service-Lösungen. So können wir nun unsere On-Demand-Buchungen auch innerhalb von umfassenden Mobility –as –a service-Apps abbilden und den Nutzer:innen einen noch höheren Mehrwert bieten, sagt Dr. Michael Barillère-Scholz, Geschäftsführer von ioki.

Neuester Artikel

Verwandte Artikel

Seniorenfreundlicher ÖPNV: Wie muss ein altersgerechter Öffentlicher Nahverkehr aussehen?

Seniorenfreundlicher ÖPNV: Wie muss ein altersgerechter Öffentlicher Nahverkehr aussehen?

Die Bevölkerung in Europa altert: 2019 war mehr als ein Fünftel (20,3 Prozent) der Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner der EU-27 mindestens 65 Jahre alt. Tendenz weiter steigend. Der demographische Wandel ist für den Nahverkehr eine Herausforderung, kann aber mit einem passgenauen Mobilitätsangebot für Seniorinnen und Senioren auch eine Wachstumschance sein. Denn, wenn ältere Personen nicht mehr Auto fahren, sind sie verstärkt auf den ÖPNV angewiesen, um weiterhin am gesellschaftlichen Leben aktiv teilnehmen zu können.

„Mind the (Gender Data) Gap” – Diversity Lunch bei ioki

„Mind the (Gender Data) Gap” – Diversity Lunch bei ioki

Kaum ein gesellschaftliches Thema ist so relevant wie Diversität und die Inklusion aller im Alltag. Auch in unseren Unternehmenswerten ist dieses Thema fest verankert und wir setzen uns für eine diverse und inklusive Kultur ein. Um dies auch aktiv umzusetzen und zu leben, haben wir eine interne Arbeitsgruppe gegründet, die sich den wichtigen Themen Diversität und Inklusion verschrieben hat.