ioki | Website Systembild | Logo negativ
What is… New Mobility?

What is… New Mobility?

“New Mobility” is often referred to as “smart mobility” and is a collective term for many innovations relating to technology and mobility. These new mobility services combine digitalisation with traditional mobility and use the advantages of the internet. New mobility services include bike sharing, demand-responsive transport, ride hailing and smart parking.

read more
Senior-friendly public transport: What should age-appropriate public transport look like?

Senior-friendly public transport: What should age-appropriate public transport look like?

Europe’s population is ageing. in 2019, more than a fifth (20.3 per cent) of the EU-27 population was at least 65 years old. And the trend is still rising. Demographic change is a challenge for public transport, but it can also be an opportunity for growth with a customised mobility offer for senior citizens. After all, if older people no longer drive, they are increasingly dependent on public transport in order to continue to actively participate in social life.

read more
Perspectives from Mackenzie Banker

Perspectives from Mackenzie Banker

Smart mobility solutions use technology and innovation to improve mobility for everyone. Similarly, Smart Cities use innovative concepts and technological advancements to improve life in urban spaces. Both enable us to achieve the vision of more human-oriented and efficient places in cities.

read more
What is … a Mobility Hub?

What is … a Mobility Hub?

Mobility Hubs, also known as Mobility stations, are publicly accessible locations where various modes of transport and sharing services converge. These can be S-Bahn (suburban train) and subway stations in an urban context, or even a bus stop in the countryside where rental bikes are available or important bus routes intersect. At these stations, people can easily switch from one mode of transport to another. Mobility hubs promote efficient and sustainable mobility by offering various mobility services, otherwise known as Mobility-as-a-Service (MaaS). The concept can be expanded from a simple bus stop to large Mobility Hubs, for example, with a combination of on-demand transport, car sharing stations, or e-scooters.

read more
What is … demand-responsive transport (DRT)?

What is … demand-responsive transport (DRT)?

Demand-responsive Transport (DRT) refers to a technology-based and shared mobility service. Instead of following predefined routes, timetables and fixed stops, on-demand services follow no timetable, also make virtual stops and operate on different routes. The vehicles operate on demand and when needed. Booking is usually done via app but can also be done via phone call and/or in the web browser. DRT combines the reliability of conventional public transport with the flexible availability of private cars.

read more
Mobility on holiday – first & last mile in tourist regions

Mobility on holiday – first & last mile in tourist regions

Holidays without mobility are only possible on staycations, because no matter whether it’s a day trip, an annual holiday or a long-term trip: Travelling means being mobile. In order to achieve the climate protection goals and to advance the traffic turnaround, tourist traffic should also be critically examined, because Germans like to travel a lot.

read more
What is … level 1-5 of autonomous driving?  

What is … level 1-5 of autonomous driving?  

Autonomous driving has been considered one of the major trends in the mobility industry for years. According to a representative survey conducted by the digital association Bitkom in 2021, 99.8 percent of respondents can imagine using an autonomous means of transport*. But what does it actually mean when car manufacturers send the first systems for highly automated driving on the road at level 3 and level 4 autonomous shuttles reinforce public transport in Germany on demand from 2023 onwards?    

read more
Corporate Mobility in 2023: flexible solutions instead of classic company transport or company cars

Corporate Mobility in 2023: flexible solutions instead of classic company transport or company cars

For a long time, the company car was considered the non-plus-ultra and was often the only mobility offer employees could expect from their employer. In 2023, more flexible mobility solutions such as digital demand-responsive company transport, job bikes and mobility budgets are gaining ground. Rising energy prices, stricter environmental and climate protection regulations as well as greater sustainability awareness among employees are also contributing to the need for companies to rethink their corporate mobility management.

read more

Newest article

Easy on the road with the ioki Vehicle App: an insight into the navigational app for demand-responsive transport

Easy on the road with the ioki Vehicle App: an insight into the navigational app for demand-responsive transport

The ioki Vehicle App is an important part of the ioki Platform alongside the ioki Passenger App and the ioki Operator. It has been specially developed to ensure the smoothest possible journey for drivers, a comfortable journey for passengers and efficient operations for transport companies.
Currently, the implementation of on-demand transport is often associated with a high level of bureaucracy and paperwork. This is eliminated by using the ioki Platform and the app.

ioki | Website Systembild | Logo negativ
Was ist eigentlich… New Mobility?

Was ist eigentlich… New Mobility?

„New Mobility“, auf Deutsch „neue Mobilität“, wird oft auch als “Smart Mobility” bezeichnet und ist ein Sammelbegriff für viele Innovationen rund um das Thema Technologie und Mobilität. Diese neuen Mobilitätsangebote kombinieren die Digitalisierung mit der klassischen Mobilität und nutzen dabei die Vorteile des Internets. New Mobility Angebote sind unter anderem Bikesharing, On-Demand-Verkehre, Ride Hailing und Smart Parking. 

mehr lesen
Seniorenfreundlicher ÖPNV: Wie muss ein altersgerechter Öffentlicher Nahverkehr aussehen?

Seniorenfreundlicher ÖPNV: Wie muss ein altersgerechter Öffentlicher Nahverkehr aussehen?

Die Bevölkerung in Europa altert: 2019 war mehr als ein Fünftel (20,3 Prozent) der Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner der EU-27 mindestens 65 Jahre alt. Tendenz weiter steigend. Der demographische Wandel ist für den Nahverkehr eine Herausforderung, kann aber mit einem passgenauen Mobilitätsangebot für Seniorinnen und Senioren auch eine Wachstumschance sein. Denn, wenn ältere Personen nicht mehr Auto fahren, sind sie verstärkt auf den ÖPNV angewiesen, um weiterhin am gesellschaftlichen Leben aktiv teilnehmen zu können.

mehr lesen
Nachgefragt bei Mackenzie Banker

Nachgefragt bei Mackenzie Banker

Intelligente Mobilitätslösungen nutzen Technologie und Innovation, um die Mobilität für alle zu verbessern. In ähnlicher Weise nutzen Smart Cities innovative Konzepte und technologische Fortschritte, um das Leben in urbanen Räumen zu verbessern. Beide ermöglichen es uns, die Vision von effizienteren Räumen in Städten, die auf die Bedürfnisse der Menschen ausgerichtet, zu verwirklichen.

mehr lesen
Was ist eigentlich … eine Mobilitätsstation?

Was ist eigentlich … eine Mobilitätsstation?

Mobilitätsstationen, auch Mobility Hubs genannt, sind öffentlich zugängliche Orte, an denen verschiedene Verkehrsmittel und Sharing-Dienste aufeinandertreffen. Das können S- und U-Bahnhöfe im städtischen Kontext sein, aber auch eine Bushaltestelle auf dem Land, an der Leihräder zur Verfügung stehen oder wichtige Buslinien kreuzen. An diesen Punkten können Menschen leicht von einem auf ein anderes Verkehrsmittel umsteigen. Mobilitätsstationen fördern eine effiziente und nachhaltige Mobilität, indem sie unterschiedliche Mobilitätsdienste als Dienstleistung, als Mobility-as-a-Service (MaaS), anbieten. Das Konzept lässt sich von der Bushaltestelle bis hin zu großen Mobility Hubs z.B. mit einer Kombination aus On-Demand-Verkehren, Carsharing-Stationen oder E-Rollern beliebig ausweiten.

mehr lesen
Was ist eigentlich… On-Demand-Mobilität?

Was ist eigentlich… On-Demand-Mobilität?

On-Demand-Mobilität bezeichnet ein technologiegestütztes und gemeinsam genutztes Mobilitätsangebot. Statt nach vorgeschriebenen Linienrouten, Fahrplänen und festen Haltestellen, folgen On-Demand-Verkehre einem keinem Fahrplan, fahren auch virtuelle Haltepunkte an und fahren unterschiedliche Routen. Die Fahrzeuge fahren auf Abruf und nach Bedarf, sprich „on demand“. Die Buchung erfolgt in der Regel per App, zudem sind Buchungen per Telefon und/oder per Webbrowser möglich. On-Demand-Mobilität verknüpft dabei die Verlässlichkeit des konventionellen öffentlichen Verkehrs (ÖPNV) mit der flexiblen Verfügbarkeit des privaten Pkw.

mehr lesen
Autonome Fahrzeuge: Zeitenwende im europäischen Nahverkehr

Autonome Fahrzeuge: Zeitenwende im europäischen Nahverkehr

Autonome Mobilität ist keine Utopie mehr, sondern heute schon Realität und Schlüsseltechnologie. Weltweit und insbesondere in Europa wird an autonomer Mobilität geforscht und getestet – hierdurch bieten sich große Potentiale zur Verbesserung der individuellen Mobilität durch immer effizientere Angebote und zusätzlich die Möglichkeit den Individualverkehr zu reduzieren.

mehr lesen
Was ist eigentlich… Stufe 1-5 des autonomen Fahrens?

Was ist eigentlich… Stufe 1-5 des autonomen Fahrens?

Autonomes Fahren gilt seit Jahren als einer der Trends in der Mobilitätsbranche. Laut einer repräsentativen Umfrage des Digitalverbandes Bitkom aus dem Jahr 2021 können sich 99,8 Prozent der befragten Personen vorstellen, ein autonomes Verkehrsmittel zu nutzen*. Aber was bedeutet es eigentlich, wenn Automobilhersteller die ersten Systeme für hochautomatisiertes Fahren auf Level 3 auf die Straße schicken und im ÖPNV in Deutschland ab 2023 autonome Shuttles der Stufe 4 auf Abruf den ÖPNV verstärken?  

mehr lesen
Corporate Mobility im Jahr 2023: flexible Lösungen statt klassischem Werksverkehr oder Dienstwagen

Corporate Mobility im Jahr 2023: flexible Lösungen statt klassischem Werksverkehr oder Dienstwagen

Lange Zeit galt der Dienstwagen als Non-Plus-Ultra und war häufig auch das einzige Mobilitätsangebot, das Mitarbeitende erwarten konnten. Im Jahr 2023 sind flexiblere Mobilitätslösungen wie digitale Werksverkehre auf Abruf, Jobrad und Mobilitätsbudgets immer mehr auf dem Vormarsch. Steigende Energiepreise, schärfere Umwelt- und Klimaschutzauflagen und ein stärkeres Nachhaltigkeitsbewusstsein der Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter tragen außerdem dazu bei, dass Unternehmen ihr betriebliches Mobilitätsmanagement überdenken müssen.

mehr lesen

Neuester Artikel

Einfacher unterwegs mit der ioki Fahrzeug-App: Ein Einblick in die Navigations-App für On-Demand-Verkehre

Einfacher unterwegs mit der ioki Fahrzeug-App: Ein Einblick in die Navigations-App für On-Demand-Verkehre

Die ioki Fahrzeug-App ist neben der ioki Fahrgast-App und dem ioki Operator ein wichtiger Teil der ioki Platform. Sie wurde speziell kreiert, um eine möglichst reibungslose Fahrt für das Fahrpersonal, eine komfortable Reise für Fahrgäste und einen effizienten Betrieb für Verkehrsunternehmen zu ermöglichen.
Aktuell ist der Einsatz von Bedarfsverkehren oft mit einem hohen bürokratischen und papiergebundenen Arbeitsaufwand verbunden. Durch den Einsatz der ioki Platform und die Nutzung der App wird dieser eliminiert.